More detailed information about councillors is available here.

The Leader of the Council

Councillor John Dean Councillor John Dean was elected to Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council in 1991 for the ward of Hatfield East, and moved to the Brookmans Park/Little Heath ward in 1998. He has championed the cause of culture, leisure and community over a number of years, became Deputy Leader in 2003 and Leader of the Council in May 2005.

As Leader of the Council, Cllr Dean chairs the Cabinet, the main decision making body of the Council.

The Leader of the Council takes overall responsibility for the strategic direction of the Council, the guidance given to officers and to lead the work of the Council. He also works closely with officers in implementing agreed policies and strategies, in a specified portfolio area, and to ensure the implementation of these in accordance with the policy framework set by the Cabinet and the Council.

Powered by GOSS iCM