More detailed information about councillors is available here.

The Mayor 2017-18

Lynne Sparks, 15 August 1966 - 10 February 2018Lynne Sparks Mayor

It is with great sadness that we must report the passing of the Mayor of Welwyn Hatfield, Councillor Lynne Sparks, aged 51, who died on Saturday 10 February.

Lynne served as a councillor for Hatfield Villages from 2010, and Mayor of Welwyn Hatfield twice: first from May 2015 until May 2016, and again from May 2017 until her death.

A dedicated Mayor, councillor and campaigner, Lynne worked hard to make Welwyn Hatfield a better place for the communities she served.

'Lynne had a boundless compassion for others and was a great champion for the many issues she cared deeply about, including addiction, domestic abuse and homelessness. She displayed tireless dedication in her roles as councillor and Mayor, and I know everyone who had the pleasure of meeting her would have been touched by her warm smile and caring nature.

The communities she served will miss her greatly, as will we.'

Rob Bridge, Chief Executive Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council


Cllr Barbara Fitzsimon, Deputy Mayor, will take over the mayoral duties until the official appointment of the borough's Mayor for 2018/19 later this year

The Mayor's Office can be contacted on mayors.office@welhat.gov.uk or 01707 357419.


Powered by GOSS iCM